The Addiction

So blogging has really been pushed by our lecturers an it seems it’s the new “Thing,” much like “Pogs or Pokemon Cards.” but for academic reasons unlike the crazes that shift between the years. As you probably know I’m a true fan of film score so I’ve taken a break from listening to the Amelie OST composed by Yann Tierson which I’ll post something about at a later date.

The Video posted is from a film called “The Road To Perdition,” which in my opinion is a masterpiece and like all masterpieces is accompanied by a magnificent soundtrack, Thomas Newman takes the helm with this one, the scores in the key of A major/ F# minor as I was transcribing it with electric guitar (I’ll post the transcription and video of me maybe soloing later) apart from learning the melody and chords I thought I’d solo over the piece all morning as an excuse to listen to this beautiful piece of art all morning.

(F# would be your first note) As I was soloing I found that as my mom tried talking to me about this mornings trivial pursuits I used the whole neck not missing one note from A major/ F# minor, so I think now would be the time for me to start learning extensively different scales seen as though I’m perfectly comfortable with the standard, taking in mind I’m not soloing to an audience (that’s a different story/ blog).

Back to the musical, isn’t there something very poetic and tense, the way the full string section comes in at 1:00 – 1:20, the melody’s beautiful but notice how the chords are rising (this component is used in pop for chorus’s to raise the listeners attention) giving a certain “Although this piece is sad, YOU WILL LOVE THIS BIT!!!” vibe to it. The raised notes are from F# minor – A major – B Major just in case you’d like to replicate what you hear, the piece then goes back to it’s regular tension until 1:54 where you’ll here a strain on the string section getting louder until we’re back into full band mode, then to finish off we have our conclusion which should settle us down due to the fact our (my) heart rates has increased due to the music edging to it’s climax then settling to let us know that we’ll (I’ll) be okay.

For those of you that have seen the film, the link should get you to the best piece of cinematography, the whole shootout scene has it’s volume taken away to make for rain & Thomas Newman’s – Ghosts (Road To Perdition OST) I would rather not explain the scene and urge you to watch the film. So take a break from busy music or whatever it is your doing and hunt down this film and watch, you’ll enjoy it!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

